BodyShop Business
WIN Announces Scholarship Winners for Educational Conference

The Women’s Industry Network (WIN) has announced its scholarship winners for the 2012 WIN Conference to be held May 6-8, 2012 at the Intercontinental Buckhead in Atlanta, Ga.

In keeping with its mission to support and encourage women who are entering or are already in the collision industry, WIN offered nine scholarships to attend the 2012 WIN Conference. Receiving student scholarships are:

• Jennifer Watkins, Lincoln College of Technology
• Le-'Trinia Ervin, Parkland College
• Leslie Mendoza, Laramie County Community College
• Tiffany Owens, Blue Ridge Community College
• Nicolette Cole, Nashville Auto Diesel College
• Kinsey Simmons, College of Western Idaho

The shop employee winners are:

• Deborah Okean, owner of MI NoDents, LLC
• Jessica Gauthier, painter’s helper at Hinshaw’s Auto Body

“We believe that we have an obligation to support young women who choose to enter our industry, and helping them attend our conference to learn and to meet other women in the industry is one way to do that,” says Teresa Bolton, chair of the WIN Scholarship Committee.  

In addition, WIN actively supports educators by offering scholarships to automotive instructors who will, in turn, encourage young women to learn collision skills and formally enter the industry. This year’s instructor scholarship is being awarded to Greg Brink, collision repair instructor at Kishwaukee College in Malta, Ill.

Scholarship winners and conference attendees will hear adventure racer, firefighter and motivational speaker Robyn Benincasa present, "Extreme Change: Adapt, Overcome & Win As One," and Service King Collision Repair Centers CEO Cathy Bonner share her perspective on "The Ten Commandments of Leadership."

More information:

WIN Scholarships

More articles in Events
Car-O-Liner to supply prizes for showgoers, including the newly launched Aluminum Workstation and QP...
Event took place Sept. 21-24 at the Ritz-Carlton Hotel Pentagon City.

Most Commented