ASA Honors Member Achievements at 2011 ASRW Award Ceremonies - BodyShop Business

ASA Honors Member Achievements at 2011 ASRW Award Ceremonies

The Automotive Service Association (ASA) honored several of its members Thursday during the ASRW Award Ceremonies. Held in Orlando, Fla., during NACE and CARS, the annual awards event provides a platform in which the association and other industry groups may acknowledge the achievements of some of its outstanding individuals.

Ron Pyle, ASA’s president and chief staff executive, hosted the program, which opened with the Automotive Management Institute (AMI) graduation ceremony recognizing those who have earned the Accredited Automotive Manager (AAM) designation.

During the awards ceremony, Tschanen Brandyberry, Motor Age managing editor, presented ASA’s presiding chairman, Ron Nagy, AAM, with a red die-cast replica car in honor of his contributions to the industry. Honoring the ASA chairmen in this way is a longtime tradition of the publisher.

ASA awards presented during the Oct. 6 event included:

• The Alpha Award recognizes an ASA Mechanical Division member for his or her generous and far-reaching contributions to the automotive service industry. Howard Pitkow, AAM, Wagenwerx Inc., Wyndmoor, Pa., was the recipient of this year’s honor.

• The Phoenix Award recognizes an ASA Collision Division member for his or her contribution to the automotive service industry. Mike Schoonover, Schoonover Body Works and Glass Inc., Shoreview, Minn., was the recipient of this year’s award.

• The ASA Benefit Provider of the Year is presented to a sponsored benefit provider in appreciation of its relationship with ASA, and for the value, quality and professional service it offers to ASA members. This year’s recipient was Meadowbrook Insurance Group, Overland Park, Kan., which has a 30-year relationship with the association.

• The ASA Chairman’s Award of Excellence recognizes individuals for their outstanding contributions to ASA and the automotive repair industry. Two honorees were announced this year – Mike West, AAM, Southtowne Auto Rebuild Inc., Tukwila, Wash.; and Virginia Duncan, Duncan’s Collision, Boardman, Ohio.

• The ASA Legislative Award recognizes those who have made an impact on legislative and regulatory activities. This year’s award posthumously honored the late Paul Duncan, AAM, Duncan’s Collision, Boardman, Ohio.

Following the Automotive Management Institute graduation ceremony, which opened the event, AMI awarded the following scholarships:

• Tom B. Babcox Memorial Scholarship: Don Schnitzler, Don’s Auto Repair Inc., Cincinnati, Ohio
• Zurich “High Octane” Scholarship: John Firm, Firm Automotive, Fort Worth, Texas
• AVI Education Scholarship: Tawaina Frost, Price’s Automotive Service, Wrightsville, Ga.
• BodyShop Business Magazine Scholarship: Kristine Linscombe, Hernandez Collision Center, Hinesville, Ga.
• Emil Stanley Merit Scholarship: Chris Renfro, Car-O-Van Collision Center, Orlando, Fla.
• Richard Cossette/Gale Westerlund Memorial Scholarship: James Noe, Nagy’s Body & Frame, Doylestown, Ohio

The following industry awards were also presented during the event:

• Motor Age Top Shop of the Year: Rad Air Complete Car Care, Strongsville, Ohio, Andy Fiffick, owner.
• ABRN Top Shop of the Year: O’Rielly Collision Center, Tucson, Ariz. Brian Guerrero, manager.
• FenderBender Executive Award: Henry Yach II, Yach’s Body & Custom, Wausau, Wis.
• FenderBender Management Award: Devin Fischer, Fischer Body Shop, Jacksonville, Mo.
• FenderBender Administrative Support Award: Humberto Ibarra, Gateway Collision Center Inc., Bakersfield, Calif.
• FenderBender Shop Worker Award: Zachery Utecht, Offutt Collision Repair, Bellevue, Neb.
• FenderBender Vendor Award: Blake Harris, Blue Ridge Color Co., Roanoke, Va.
• FenderBender Wildcard Award: Rick Starbard, Rick’s Auto Collision & Service Center, Revere, Mass.
• Women’s Industry Network NACE Scholarships: Elizabeth Moore, Houston, Texas; and Alexandra Domar, Maple Grove, Ill.
• Russ Verona Memorial/IBIS Scholarship: Ron Nagy, AAM, Nagy’s Collision Centers, Wooster, Ohio.

Award-winners were also acknowledged during the Opening General Session in the Orange County Convention Center Thursday, which featured keynote speaker and marketing guru Chris Brogan.

NACE and CARS will be held during Automotive Service and Repair Week (ASRW) next year when the events move to New Orleans, Oct. 10-13.BodyShop Business Publisher Scott Shriber (right) hands the Tom B. Babcox Memorial Scholarship award to Don Schnitzler.BodyShop Business Editor Jason Stahl hands out the BodyShop Business Magazine Scholarship award.

More information:

ASRW 2011 and 2012

You May Also Like

Cruise Postpones Release of Driverless Taxi Service

Cruise, a GM subsidiary, recently announced that it will miss its goal of launching a large-scale self-driving taxi service in 2019.

Cruise, a GM subsidiary, recently announced that it will miss its goal of launching a large-scale self-driving taxi service in 2019. Cruise CEO Dan Ammann said the company plans to dramatically increase the number of its autonomous test vehicles on the road in San Francisco, but will not be offering rides to regular people this year, according to an article from The Verge.

Cutting Edge Automotive Solutions Partners with Andretti Rallycross

Andretti Rallycross announced that Cutting Edge Automotive Solutions will serve as technical partner on Cabot Bigham’s No. 02 OINK Clothing Beetle for the remainder of the 2019 Americas Rallycross season, showcasing their SP Tools USA brand.

Ford, Volkswagen Expand Collaboration to Include Autonomous, Electric Vehicles

Ford Motor Company and Volkswagen AG announced they are expanding their global alliance to include electric vehicles – and will collaborate with Argo AI to introduce autonomous vehicle technology in the U.S. and Europe.

CCAR Updates Website with More OSHA Alliance Resources

CCAR (Coordinating Committee For Automotive Repair) has announced the addition of new Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) Alliance content on its main website,

CARSTAR McLaren Lake Forest and CARSTAR McLaren Irvine Open in California

Owned by husband-and-wife team James and Mary Davis, CARSTAR McLaren Lake Forest and CARSTAR McLaren Irvine are a family business.

Other Posts

CIECA to Offer Webinar on What Businesses Need to Know to Implement CIECA Standards

CIECA will hold its next CIECAst webinar, “Implementing CIECA Standards: Implementation Guide and Appendix C – BMS, Code Lists and Shema Components,” on Tuesday, Dec. 11, 2018 at 11 a.m. CST.

CARSTAR Urges Customers to Stay Winter Ready

Cold weather can create some of the harshest driving conditions of the year. The months between October and February top the list for accidents, vehicle damage and injuries.

CIECA Adds Broadly as Corporate Member

The Collision Industry Electronic Commerce Association (CIECA) announced that Broadly has joined CIECA as a corporate member.

NABR Launches BillableGenie Online Searchable Database of Insurer-Paid Not-Included Procedures

National AutoBody Research (NABR) has announced the launch of its BillableGenie online service, an independent, centralized source of actual data on insurer paid not-included procedures and operations, labor rates, labor rate concessions and other manually entered estimate line items.