ASA Honors Member Achievements at 2014 Celebration of Excellence - BodyShop Business
Connect with us
Close Sidebar Panel Open Sidebar Panel


ASA Honors Member Achievements at 2014 Celebration of Excellence

Annual event, which opened with the AMI graduation ceremony, took place Friday, Aug. 1 in Dearborn, Mich.


The Automotive Service Association (ASA) held its “Celebration of Excellence” Friday, Aug. 1 at the Henry Ford Museum in Dearborn, Mich. – a site close to ASA’s NACE | CARS 2014 events in downtown Detroit. This traditional awards dinner honors the achievements of ASA members and its industry partners.

Click Here to Read More

Dan Risley, ASA’s president and executive director, hosted the program, which opened with the Automotive Management Institute (AMI) graduation ceremony recognizing those who have earned the Accredited Automotive Manager (AAM) designation.

Awards and scholarships presented during ASA’s Celebration of Excellence included:

  • The Tom B. Babcox Memorial Scholarship, the recipient of which was Steve Geiling, Geiling Service Inc., Metairie, La.
  • The BodyShop Business Magazine Scholarship, which went to Patrick Johnson, Brothers Body & Paint Inc., Martinsville, Ind.
  • The Arrowhead Automotive Specialty Market “High Octane” Scholarship, which went to Chris Pfefferle, Pfefferle Tire and Auto Service, Fairfield, Ohio.
  • The Emil Stanley Merit Award, which was presented to Stefany Lorang, LaMettry’s Collision, Inver Grove Heights, Minn.
  • A special AMI Continuing Education Recognition honor, which went to Jerry Holcom, S&S Service Center Inc., Kansas City, Mo., for his commitment to AMI and continuing education.
  • ASA’s Phoenix Award, which recognizes an ASA Collision Division member for his or her contribution to the automotive service industry, went to Michael Anderson,
  • ASA’s Alpha Award, which recognizes an ASA Mechanical Division member for his or her generous and far-reaching contributions to the automotive service industry. Bill Moss, AAM, EuroService Automotive, Warrenton, Va., was the recipient of this year’s award.
  • The ASA Legislative Award, which recognizes those who have made an impact on legislative and regulatory activities. Diane Larson of Larson’s Service Inc. in Peabody, Mass., was recognized for her efforts to represent ASA at service information hearings and meetings in Massachusetts, as well as other repair-related policy issues.
  • The ASA Partnership Award, which recognizes an individual, group or company that has voluntarily worked together with ASA to further the industry and the association. ASA honored Ray Fisher, executive director of ASA-Michigan, for his input, direction and support of NACE | CARS 2014.
  • The ASA Benefit Provider of the Year, which is presented to a sponsored benefit provider in appreciation of its relationship with ASA, and for the value, quality and professional service it offers to ASA members. This year’s recipient was AutoZone.
  • The Chairman’s Award of Excellence, which recognizes individuals for their outstanding contributions to ASA and the automotive repair industry, went to Roy Schnepper, AAM, Butler’s Collision, Roseville, Mich.

ASA’s next awards program will be held in conjunction with the association’s annual trade shows – the International Autobody Congress and Exposition (NACE) and the Congress of Automotive Repair and Service (CARS). The shows will be held July 23-25, 2015. The location has not been determined.


More information:


Click to comment
BodyShop Business