I-CAR Ed. Foundation Announces 2010 Scholarship Winners - BodyShop Business
Connect with us


Close Sidebar Panel Open Sidebar Panel


I-CAR Ed. Foundation Announces 2010 Scholarship Winners


The I-CAR Education Foundation announced the recipients of the scholarships created to assist students pursuing careers in the collision repair industry. These awards are part of over $150,000 in grants and scholarships to be given out in 2010 by the I-CAR Education Foundation.

Click Here to Read More

One of the scholarships, the I-CAR Education Foundation Scholarship, is in its third year and funded by the collision industry through the Collision Repair Education Campaign. The second scholarship, The Lon Baudoux Legacy Scholarship, is in its second year and was created to honor Lon Baudoux, I-CAR development manager, who passed away in November 2008. This scholarship is funded mainly by I-CAR staff and I-CAR instructors who worked with Lon. The third scholarship, the I-CAR Education Foundation Board of Trustees Scholarship, is funded by the current members of the board of trustees. The fourth scholarship is the AutocheX scholarship.

The scholarship winners are:

I-CAR Education Foundation Scholarship  

• $5,000 Award Recipient (Secondary): Blake Grover, Dennis Technical Education Center, Boise, Idaho

• $5,000 Award Recipient (Post-Secondary): Benjamin Zumwalt, Herndon Career Center, Raytown, Mo.

• $2,000 Award Recipients (Secondary): Nicholas Perez, Saginaw Career Complex, Saginaw, Mich.; Brandon Sweet, Calhoun Area Career Center, Battle Creek, Mich.; Matthew Scheible, Potter Career & Tech Center, West Seneca, New York; and Cordney Williams, Saginaw Career Complex, Saginaw, Mich.


• $2,000 Award Recipients (Post-Secondary): Josh Musgrave, Northwest Kansas Technical College, Goodland, Kan.; and Ryan Kelley, Fox Valley Technical College, Appleton, Wis.

Lon Baudoux Legacy Scholarship

• $1,000 award: Jessica Dancer, Southeast Career and Technical Academy, Las Vegas, Nev.

I-CAR Education Foundation Board of Trustees Scholarship

• $2,000 award: Michael Favazza, Automotive Training Center, Warminster, Pa.

AutocheX Scholarship

• $2,000 award: Brian Chandler, Greenville Technical College, Greenville, South Carolina

“Congratulations to the 2010 scholarship recipients – they are an impressive and inspiring group of people who are well on their way to being successful within our industry,” said Scott Kruger, I-CAR Education Foundation executive director. “All of us at the I-CAR Education Foundation were pleased to be able to offer a number of new scholarship opportunities for young men and women seeking to turn their skills, dedication, and passion for cars into a rewarding career.”


A selection committee comprised of members of the foundation board of trustees grant programs task force made the final selection of scholarship recipients. Committee members included: Geralynn Kottschade, Jerry’s Body Shop, Inc. (committee chair); Terry Angell, Warren Tech; Mary Knapp, Dennis Technical Education Center; John Saia, Toyota Motor Sales USA, Inc; Greg Settle, Mercedes-Benz, LLC; and John Ward, Enterprise Rent-A-Car.

More information:

I-CAR Education Foundation

Click to comment
BodyShop Business