I-CAR Honors Instructors, Announces 2020 Award Recipients
Connect with us
Close Sidebar Panel Open Sidebar Panel


I-CAR Honors Instructors, Announces 2020 Award Recipients

I-CAR has announced the 2020 recipients of their Johnny Dickerson Welding Award, Lon Baudoux Instructor of the Year Award and I-CAR’s Founders and Committee Awards.

Click Here to Read More

The awards were scheduled to be announced at I-CAR’s Annual Volunteer & Instructor Conference planned for earlier this year. Due to COVID-19, the conference was canceled, and I-CAR later recognized award recipients during a virtual event.

“I-CAR’s vision is to bring collision repair training and knowledge to everyone in the industry,” said Stacey Wesselink Moellering, associate Vice President, Marketing & Segment Development, I-CAR. “This aspirational goal would not be possible without a dedicated team of some 1,500 instructors, volunteers and staff committed to I-CAR’s front lines in pursuit of complete, safe and quality repairs for the ultimate benefit of the consumer.”


I-CAR presents the Johnny Dickerson Award to an I-CAR welding instructor in each training region of the country who best imitates the methodologies of Dickerson, who passed away in 2015 following approximately three decades of service.

“The award exemplifies an individual who has “a heart of a teacher, goes above and beyond to help a technician understand, is giving of their time and energy, and furthers the cause of I-CAR and the Welding Training & Certification program,” said Moellering.

The 2020 Johnny Dickerson Award winners are:

  • Northwest Region: Ron Gill
  • Southwest Region: Hung Luong
  • South Central Region: James Gordon
  • North Central Region: James Steele
  • Southwest Region: Ronnie Swygert
  • Northeast Region: Bill Valley

The Lon Baudoux Instructor of the Year Award, established in 2009 for Lou Baudoux, a beloved instructor who passed away in 2008, is given to one instructor in each I-CAR training region who goes above and beyond the requirements of the instructor position.


“For instance, the instructor may participate in SkillsUSA, committee meetings, travel extra to put on classes, is willing to help and cover for others as needed, etc.,” Moellering said.

The 2020 Lon Baudoux winners are:

  • Northwest Region: Bruce Evenstad
  • Southwest Region: Lupe Algood
  • South Central Region: Tim McCarty
  • North Central Region: Trent Jensen
  • Southeast Region: Sergio Herrera
  • Northeast Region: Phil Adams

I-CAR also announced recipients of its Founders Ring Award, honoring an individual in each I-CAR training region who best represents the vision and mission of I-CAR.


“This individual has a heart for the industry, a heart for training, is involved in many additional aspects of the industry and exemplifies all of which I-CAR stands for,” said Moellering.

The 2020 Founders Ring Award winners are:

  • Northwest Region: Debbie Gates
  • Southwest Region: Kurtis Rosborough
  • South Central Region: Jeff Russell
  • North Central Region: Toni Van Doren
  • Southeast Region: Kyle Medeiros
  • Northeast Region: Jim Hill

“I-CAR instructors train technicians who face increasingly complex repairs due to rapid technological advancements,” said Moellering. “Our volunteers promote I-CAR curriculum to technical schools and work tirelessly to spread the word about I-CAR’s training, Training Alliance partners and technical information that is available on I-CAR’s Repairability Technical Support website one shop at a time. These awards are an important way to honor some of the many remarkable individuals who clearly go above and beyond.”


In addition to these awards, I-CAR recognized more than 125 volunteer committees across the country that work non-stop to advance the role of training at the local levels.

For more information about all 2020 awards, see the just-released ADAS Issue of I-CAR’s Collision Reporter magazine. For information on all of I-CAR’s awards and past winners, visit i-car.com/awards.

Click to comment
BodyShop Business