The Houston Auto Body Association (HABA) announced it is inviting collision repairers to its “Collision Day on the Hill” on Feb. 12 at the capital building in Austin, Texas.
Once again, legislation was introduced in the Missouri Legislature that seeks to repeal the state’s vehicle safety inspection program.
Insurers are asking Massachusetts Gov. Charlie Baker to sign legislation establishing criminal penalties for selling or installing a counterfeit airbag in a vehicle, according to an article by the Gloucester Daily Times.
The controversial bill to prevent insurance companies from mandating the use of aftermarket parts without the owner’s consent on motor vehicles less than 48 months beyond the manufacturer date has become law in Rhode Island, according to a report by Insurance Journal.
The California Senate Insurance Committee recently voted 9-1 to advance Assembly Bill 2276, with a purpose to supplement the auto body labor rate survey laws and clarify parameters and other conditions.
Rhode Island is currently considering House Bill 8013 ( RI H8013), which would prohibit the installation of non-OEM parts without the vehicle owner providing expressed written consent.
House Bill 2254, which passed in the Arizona House on April 30, proposed to increase the minimum required liability coverage to $25,000 for injuries to one person in an accident, $50,000 for all injuries and $25,000 for property damage.
Senate Bill 421 would make the crime a Class B, C or D felony depending on prior criminal history, specifics of the staged incident or if injury or death occurred.
Five Democratic U.S. Senators have sent a letter to Senate Commerce Committee Chairman John Thune (R-S.D.) requesting more stringent safety measures be inserted into Senate Bill 1885, or the “American Vision for Safer Transportation through Advancement of Revolutionary Technologies” (AV START) Act.
What started out as a bill containing “some good things” for body shops and consumers in the Hoosier State has become “a nightmare,” the president of the Indiana Auto Body Association (IABA) said.
Forty-seven states have made it illegal to text while driving unless using a hands-free device, and Arizona may be next.
The bill, which would require vehicle owners to buy bodily injury coverage, was opposed by insurance representatives who predicted premiums and lawsuits would increase, reported the Sun Sentinel.