TechForce Announces Grand Prize Winner of FutureTechs Rock Awards

Collision Student Wins Grand Prize in FutureTechs Rock Awards

Taeler Coverdale, a collision repair student at UTI, has been named as grand prize winner in the TechForce Foundation’s 2023 FutureTechs Rock Awards.

The TechForce Foundation announced that Taeler Coverdale, a collision repair student at Universal Technical Institute in Houston, Texas, has been named as grand prize winner in the TechForce Foundation’s 2023 FutureTechs Rock Awards. TechForce created this prestigious award to honor aspiring technicians and recognize students with a promising future in the transportation industry. 

“This is amazing! I’m in utter shock right now,” said Coverdale upon learning she is this year’s grand prize winner. “Thank you for the opportunity … being an example for other women … that’s what I want, that’s why I’m in this. I want to make a difference for women in this industry — if a girl sees that she might think she’s able to do this as a career.” 

More than 4,000 TechForce followers voted in this year’s awards. Coverdale received the most votes, earning her the grand prize from among 10 contenders who were all category winners. Coverdale was previously named as the collision repair category winner. 

“Role models like Taeler show students that there is a place for them in technician careers,” said Jennifer Maher, executive director of TechForce. “As we all know, young people are so much more likely to pursue a career if they see people like them succeeding in it. Women account for less than 3% of transportation techs, and so welcoming women into the trade is critical to addressing the ongoing technician shortage. TechForce is proud to celebrate Taeler and the new generation of women joining the industry.”

As the grand prize winner, Coverdale will receive a $1,000 TechForce scholarship and $4,000 in prizes from TechForce and sponsors including Advance Auto Parts; AutoZone; Cengage Learning; CRC Industries; Mighty Auto Parts; New Ford Tech; Nissan; Snap-on Industrial; Volvo; and WD-40 Company. 

Through the FutureTechs Rock Awards, TechForce and its partners have awarded 50 transportation technician students with over $67,000 in prizes and scholarships since 2019. The awards are made possible because of generous donations from people and companies that believe everyone should have a chance to succeed. Each of the 10 category winners has been awarded $1,500 in prizes. Category winners were selected by industry-expert judges from hundreds of high school and post-secondary nominations, representing 182 campuses across 38 states. Thirty percent of the category winners were women, a significant proportion considering only 3% of professional technicians are women. 

The 10 category winners represent seven states and 10 schools, with each being recognized in a distinct technical education discipline:


Abbie Vetse, Hennepin Technical College, Maple Grove, Minn.


Teresa Sacca, Antelope Valley College, Lancaster, Calif.

Collision Repair

Taeler Coverdale, Universal Technical Institute, Houston, Texas

Diesel Off-Road

Nicholas Isaly, Lenawee ISD TECH Center, Adrian, Mich.

Diesel On-Road

Andrew Younkin, Western Technical College, El Paso, Texas

Marine and Watercraft

Benjamin Pooler, Portland Arts & Technology High School, Buxton, Maine

Motorcycle and ATV

Everrett Novak, Motorcycle Mechanics Institute, Phoenix, Ariz.


Benjamin Delauter, NASCAR Technical Institute, Mooresville, N.C.


Tyler Renken, Central Carolina Community College, Bunnlevel, N.C.

Welding and CNC

Connor Essary, St. Clair TEC, St. Clair, Mich.

For more information on the 2023 grand prize and category winners, visit

For more information on the TechForce Foundation, visit  

You May Also Like

CIECA Announces Webinar on CIECA Standards

The webinar, “Open API Development Best Practices and Lessons Learned”, will feature Darrel Miller, API architect at Microsoft.

The Collision Industry Electronic Commerce Association (CIECA) announced it will be holding a webinar, “Open API Development Best Practices and Lessons Learned”, featuring Darrel Miller, API architect at Microsoft, on Thursday, April 20 at 2 p.m. EST. During the one-hour webinar, CIECA’s Architecture Committee will also provide an update about CIECA API Standards (CAPIS) and share information about the first standards release of the year, the 2023R1.

HD Repair Forum to Showcase OEMs and Insurers

The HD Repair Forum announced that it will once again be showcasing OEMs and insurers and their involvement in the heavy-duty collision industry at their conference April 18-19 in Forth Worth, Texas.

Ford, TechForce Foundation Announce $1M Scholarship

Ford Motor Company Fund is joining Ford dealers across four U.S. regions to provide a million dollars in scholarship funding to help students pursue careers as automotive technicians.

Maaco Rockwall Wins Customer Focus Award

Maaco Rockwall of Rockwall, Texas recently received the Excellence in Customer Focus award from the Rockwall Area Chamber of Commerce.

Chariot Collision Center in Indiana Joins 1Collision

1Collision has announced the addition of Chariot Collision Center in Kokomo, Ind.

Other Posts

NABC Donates Recycled Rides to Charlotte Veterans

The NABC, along with GEICO, Carolinas Collision Capital Ford and Crash Champions, recently donated refurbished vehicles to two deserving Charlotte veterans.

Auto Glass Now Colonial Heights Opens in Virginia

Derek Merriweather, manager of Auto Glass Now Colonial Heights, joins the growing auto glass family with 14 years of industry experience.

SUN Collision Unveils New Website

SUN Collision has unveiled its new website to provide easy access to OEM collision repair information. 

Crash Champions Donates Recycled Ride to Charlotte Veteran

Crash Champions, NABC and GEICO donated a refurbished vehicle to Cyril Smith, a Charlotte, N.C., Army veteran.