WIN Awards Scholarships to 20 Students

WIN Awards Scholarships to 20 Students

WIN has awarded its 2023 WIN College Student Tuition and Conference Scholarship Awards to a record 20 new recipients. 

The Women’s Industry Network (WIN) announced that it has awarded its 2023 WIN College Student Tuition and Conference Scholarship Awards to a record 20 new recipients. 

These scholarships are presented annually to deserving students enrolled in a post-secondary collision repair technology program. This year, WIN expanded its signature scholarship program, continuing its tradition of financially supporting females who demonstrate a desire to excel in the field of collision repair.

The expansion was designed to attract more students and increase the number of awards, starting with doubling the award rate this year and enabling a variety of students to grow in their collision repair career journey. As part of the application process, each WIN scholarship applicant registered for, and received, a complimentary WIN student membership. WIN also supports collision repair instructors with access to free WIN memberships through the Pay It Forward campaign.

“The expanded program offers the College Student Tuition and Conference Scholarship Awards on two financial levels, CHAMPION and STARS,” said Laura Kottschade, co-chair of the 2022-23 Scholarship Committee. “Recipients are awarded a scholarship ranging from $500 up to $2,500 based on the selection team’s evaluation of their application and the interview process. All recipients received tool kits valued at over $500, WIN items and complimentary registration for attendance to the virtual format of the annual WIN Educational Conference to be held in San Antonio, Texas May 1-3, 2023.”

Added 2022-23 Scholarship Committee Co-chair Holly Whitley, “We understand the need to attract talent to our industry and are firm believers that supporting students throughout their schooling will make a difference. The new tiered criteria for the 2022-23 program has engaged students across a wider spectrum of experience.”

WIN also kicked off a new student engagement program where WIN student members will connect with other members who are in a similar stage in their lives. The program provides networking and individual connection with women in the industry who can share relevant experiences from their success. These networking groups will support new female entrants to the collision repair field and hopefully create lifetime friendships that further WIN goals for longer term career advancement and retention.

The WIN 2023 Scholarship award winners are:

CHAMPION recipients
  • Kaygen Bogle, Convoy, Ohio (Wyotech)
  • Mykenzie Fagan, Rio, Wis. (Madison Area Technical College)
  • Sierra Fahley, Larsen, Wis. (Fox Valley Technical)
  • Nikya Fields, Houston, Texas (UTI Houston)
  • Amy Fitzgerald, Tullahoma, Tenn. (Tennessee College of Applied Technology Murfreesboro)
  • Sylvia Fort, Torrance, Calif. (El Camino College)
  • Ruth Guardiola, Bellevue, Wash. (Metropolitan Community College)
  • Alexandria Huntley, Spring, Texas (UTI Houston)
  • Ren Weilage, Mankato, Minn. (South Central College)
  • Morrigan Wolf, Redmond, Wash. (Lake Washington Institute of Technology)
STARS recipients
  • Renee Betz, Afton, Okla. (UTI – Houston)
  • MaryAna Buell, Idaho Falls, Idaho (Idaho State University)
  • Taeler Coverdale, Houston, Texas (UTI – Houston)
  • Lizbeth DelReal, Topeka, Kan., (Washburn Institute of Technology)
  • Brooklyn DiFrederico, The Villages, Fla. (Lake Technical College)
  • Carla Vanessa Ortiz Coleman, Jacksonville, N.C. (Coastal Carolina Community College)
  • Sandra Rowland, Maple Hill, N.C. (Coastal Carolina Community College)
  • Mariah Sherman, Houston, Texas (UTI – Houston)
  • Kayla Tollis, Coraopolis, Penn. (Rosedale Technical College)
  • Anastasia Wingo, New Freedom, Penn. (Pennsylvania College of Technology)

WIN is holding a Scholarship Walk with the goal of raising funds for future scholarships and create some friendly competition between businesses and students for future scholarship opportunities. Top student fundraisers will win prizes including a tool box, spray gun and tool cart. The top business will win bragging rights through a media opportunity. For more information, click here.

To learn more about WIN’s scholarship program, click here.

You May Also Like

SEMA Celebrates 30 Years of Advancing Women in Aftermarket

The SEMA Businesswomen’s Network is celebrating its 30th anniversary in 2023.

The SEMA Businesswomen’s Network (SBN), a subset network of the Specialty Equipment Market Association that supports and raises awareness of women in the automotive industry, is celebrating its 30th anniversary in 2023.

The network, which encourages and supports women pursuing careers in the automotive field, represents over 700 female and male members spanning across various occupations and markets in the aftermarket industry.

SCRS Announces Candidates for 2023 Annual Election

The SCRS is inviting active members to take part in the annual election for the SCRS board of directors on Tuesday, April 11 at 5:15 p.m. at the Omni Richmond, Va.

SCRS Members Discuss Blend Study Live from SEMA Stage

SCRS announced that collision repairers can watch a discussion of the association’s blend study that was recorded live from the 2022 SEMA Show stage.

CIECA Webinar: Adapting to Speed of Change in Collision

CIECA’s next webinar, “How to Adapt to the Speed of Change in the Collision Industry … Without Getting Crushed,” is scheduled for Thursday, March 30 at 2 p.m. EST.

ABAT to Hold 6th Annual Skeet Shoot

The Auto Body Association of Texas is holding its 6th annual skeet shoot on Thursday, May 11 at Elm Fork Shooting Sports in Dallas.

Other Posts

CIECA Announces Classic Collision as New Corporate Member

Based in Atlanta, Ga., Classic Collision was established in 1983 with a single goal: to offer quality service to its customers with integrity and honesty. 

WIN Announces 2023 Most Influential Women Award Recipients

The Women’s Industry Network annually honors women whose career achievements have enhanced the collision repair industry.

SEMA Congratulates U.S. Sen. Markwayne Mullin

SEMA congratulates U.S. Sen. Markwayne Mullin (R-OK) on being named the co-chair of the Congressional Automotive Performance and Motorsports Caucus.

ABAT Educates Legislators on Safe Repairs

Collision repairers from all over the Lone Star State showed up in Austin on Feb. 23 to educate legislators on ABAT’s Safe Repair bill and Fair Appraisal bill.