I-CAR Education Foundation Awards Grants, Scholarships - BodyShop Business
Connect with us


Close Sidebar Panel Open Sidebar Panel


I-CAR Education Foundation Awards Grants, Scholarships


The I-CAR Education Foundation has announced the recipients of the two collision repair scholarships, curriculum grants for five schools, maintenance grants for 12 schools to update curriculum and training material libraries, and training grants that will help 12 instructors attend the I-CAR Instructor Qualification Workshop (IQW). These awards are funded by industry donations made to the Collision Repair Education Campaign and are part of over $150,000 in grants and scholarships to be given out in 2009 by the I-CAR Education Foundation.

Click Here to Read More

One of the scholarships, the I-CAR Education Foundation Scholarship, is in its second year and funded by the entire collision industry through the Collision Repair Education Campaign. The second scholarship, The Lon Baudoux Legacy Scholarship, is a new scholarship opportunity created to honor Lon Baudoux, I-CAR Development Manager, who passed away in November 2008. This scholarship is funded mainly by I-CAR staff and I-CAR instructors who worked with Lon at I-CAR.

The I-CAR Education Foundation top scholarship winner in the secondary category is Felipe de Jesus Camarena Figueroa, a student at Dutch Fork High School/Irmo High School in Irmo, South Carolina. Figueroa will be awarded a $5,000 scholarship to continue his education and career in the collision industry.


The top scholarship winners in the post-secondary category are Amanda Struphar and Jennifer Baca, both students at Universal Technical Institute (UTI) in Houston, Texas. Struphar and Baca will each be awarded a $5,000 scholarship to continue their education in the collision industry.

Five additional I-CAR Education Foundation scholarships for $2,000 were awarded to students from career and technical schools and colleges. Winners in the secondary category were: Jerry Aceves from Ratteree Career Development Center in Irving, Texas; Josh Albrecht from Nichols Career Center in Jefferson City, Mo.; and Jeremy Kirst from Westfield Vocational High School in Westfield, Mass.

Winners in the Post-Secondary category were: Laura Maria Salas from Contra Costa College in San Pablo, Calif., and Mychelle Hix from Herndon Career Center in Raytown, Mo.


For the Lon Baudoux Legacy Scholarship, based on a student’s activities outside of school, two award recipients were selected: Gavin Villanueva from Contra Costa College in San Pablo, Calif., and Seth Clark Dunn from Universal Technical Institute in Houston, Texas. Each will receive a $1,000 to continue his education in collision repair.

“These winners are just a small sample of the impressive young men and women that I am certain will make a positive impact on the collision industry,” said Scott Kruger, I-CAR Education Foundation executive director. “Congratulations to them and thank you to our donors who are helping collision students nationwide turn their passion for cars into a rewarding career.”


I-CAR also awarded several grants to schools around the U.S.

The schools receiving curriculum grants include:

Northwest Arkansas Community College Regional Technology Center (Fayetteville, Ark.)
Northwest Career Center (Dublin, Ohio)
Rolla Technical Institute (Rolla, Mo.)
Tennessee Technology Center at Crump (Crump, Tenn.)
West Kentucky Community & Technical College (Paducah, Ky.)

Each of the five schools will receive part of a package of the I-CAR Live Curriculum covering tasks required by the National Automotive Technicians Education Foundation (NATEF). In addition, each school will become a member of the I-CAR Industry Training Alliance within the next year. Once a member of the Industry Training Alliance, the schools can award their students I-CAR credits (points) upon graduation.


The schools receiving curriculum maintenance grants include:

Blue River Career Programs (Shelbyville, Ind.)
Cerritos College (Norwalk, Calif.)
Coffeyville Community College (Columbus, Kan.)
Cumberland Perry AVTS (Mechanicsburg, Pa.)
Fayette County Vocational-Technical (Uniontown, Pa.)
Maine Vocational Reg Ten (Brunswick, Maine)
Medford Vocational Technical HS (Medford, Mass.)
Nichols Career Center (Jefferson City, Mo.)
North Central Technical Skills Center (Wenatchee, Wash.)
Oxford Hills Technical School (South Paris, Maine)
Ramona High School (Ramona, Calif.)
Southeast Career Technical Academy (Las Vegas, Nev.)

The Instructor Qualification Workshop (IQW) grant recipients are:

Bree Downs (SCCC/ATS-Liberal, Kan.)
Clarence Griffin (Lewis-Clark State College-Lewiston, Idaho)
Dana Klouzak (Linn State Technical College-Linn, Mo.)
Gordon Michael (Northcentral Technical College-Antego, Wis.)
Tim Nance (DeKalb County Technology Center-Rainsville, Ala.)
Michael Roemen (Bay Path Regional Voc Tech HS-Charlton, Mass.)
Daniel Salas (St. Philip’s College-San Antonio, Texas)
Craig Shaw (Southeast Community College-Milford, Neb.)
Bryan Steward (Bossier Parish Tech School-Shreveport, La.)
Milton Tadaki (Honolulu Community College-Honolulu, Hawaii)
Phil Wideman (Linn State Technical College-Linn, Mo.)
Daniel Williams (St. Bridges Correctional Center-Chesapeake, Va.)


The IQW will help the instructors learn how to teach using the I-CAR Live Curriculum. In addition, completion of the IQW is one of the steps needed to induct the instructor’s school into the Industry Training Alliance.

For more information, visit www.ed-foundation.org.

Click to comment
BodyShop Business