Massachusetts Senate Considers Hands-Free Driving Legislation - Body Shop Business
Connect with us
Close Sidebar Panel Open Sidebar Panel

News

Massachusetts Senate to Consider Distracted Driving Bill

Drivers could still use hands-free devices to make calls, and there are exceptions for emergency situations included in the bill.

Advertisement

hands-free

Click Here to Read More
Advertisement

In its first session of 2016, the Massachusetts Senate is considering legislation to prohibit the use of handheld mobile electronic devices while driving, which also would prevent drivers from entering information by hand into a GPS device while driving. Drivers could still use hands-free devices to make calls, and there are exceptions for emergency situations included in the bill.

For the first violation, drivers would be fined $100, $250 the second time and $500 for all violations after that. Moreover, three-time offenders would be hit with an auto insurance surcharge. Fourteen states, including Connecticut, New Hampshire, Vermont and New York, have hands-free cellphone laws.

Advertisement
1 Comment
Connect
BodyShop Business